Christina Aguilera Sings Say Something” live on NBC’s The Voice

Daily Life / Entertainment / Events / News / November 7, 2013

There are moments in every artist’s life that completely change the game. Last night A Great Big World found their moment as they performed their breakout single “Say Something” live on NBC’s The Voice with iconic recording artist Christina Aguilera [Watch it here].

In the aftermath of the undeniably beautiful performance, “Say Something” trended worldwide on Twitter as the music community including Aguilera, One Republic, Christina Perri, Ingrid Michaelson, Cee Lo Green, and Carson Daly lauded the performance with tweets of their own. The audience also expressed its adoration in a very big way.

Just six hours after the show aired on the East Coast, the song reached #1 on the iTunes Pop Songs Chart and captured #2 on the iTunes Overall Top Songs Chart. Meanwhile, the pre-order for the group’s debut full-length, “Is There Anybody Out There?”, hit #13 on the iTunes Pop Albums Chart and #23 on the Overall Albums Chart. Additionally, the original recording of “Say Something” vaulted to #23 on the iTunes Pop Songs Chart, while “This Is the New Year” rose to #60 on the same chart. The entire night proved nothing short of magical for A Great Big World’s Ian Axel and Chad Vaccarino.

They commented, “We still can’t even believe that this happened. We can hardly put it into words. Not only did we get to perform on The Voice, but we were honored to do so alongside one of the best voices in the world, Christina Aguilera. We’re so thankful for the opportunity, and we’re grateful to all of our fans around the globe who have connected with the song so closely.”Right now, listeners who pre-order the album [iTunes] receive downloads of “Say Something” featuring Christina Aguilera, the original version of “Say Something”, and “This Is the New Year.” Each song is available for individual download as well.

A Great Big World, which features New York-based singer-songwriting duo Ian Axel and Chad Vaccarino, has received critical acclaim from both the press and music community for the undeniably emotional song. They are also known for the viral hit “This Is the New Year,” which solidified them as an indie pop presence with staggering YouTube views and numerous syncs on film and television. The duo crafted a six-song EP funded entirely on Kickstarter by fans which got them signed to Black Magnetic / Epic Records and are known for their positive, piano-driven pop songs and heartwarming lyrics. The group’s debut full-length album “Is There Anybody Out There?” will feature both the original and Christina Aguilera version of “Say Something,” and will be released January 14th.


Welcome to A Great Big World.


1.      “Rockstar”

2.      “Land of Opportunity”

3.      “Already Home”

4.      “I Really Want It”

5.      “Say Something”

6.      “You’ll Be Okay”

7.      “Everyone is Gay”

8.      “There Is an Answer”

9.      “I Don’t Wanna Love Somebody Else”

10.  “This Is the New Year”

11.  “Shorty Don’t Wait”

12.  “Cheer Up!”

13.  “Say Something” featuring Christina Aguilera


Pre-order the album on their official site, Amazon or iTunes now!


A Great Big World:

Tags: ,

Staff Editor

Previous Post

CHARLIE COUNTRYMAN in Theaters and OnDemand November 15, 2013.

Next Post

Norwegian Cruise Line and Nintendo Expand Partnership to Bring Wii U Gaming Fun to Ships

You might also like

More Story

CHARLIE COUNTRYMAN in Theaters and OnDemand November 15, 2013.

When his late mother appears in a vision and tells him to go to Bucharest, Charlie immediately boards a plane across the Atlantic....

November 5, 2013